Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > North U16/18's finalise England challenge
Your News North U16/18's finalise England challenge

A crucial step on the road to becoming an England age-group international was taken last weekend when the selectors of the North Under 16 and Under 18 squads made their final choices for the up-coming Divisional Festivals at Broadstreet, Coventry in early January.

The Midlands get-togethers bring together the cream of the England crop at the two age-groups and put the players involved in the national spotlight in front of the England selection panel.

At North Under 16 level, adverse weather has made life difficult for players and selectors alike, with frost hitting plans for development sessions at Barnard Castle and Mount St Mary's College and a deluge of water making the final trial at King's School, Macclesfield an especially difficult process.

However, the England Selectors have named 23 players to represent the North in the Divisional Festival, which starts on January 9 at Broadstreet. The squad is: Tom Ailes (Cheshire, Ashton-on-Mersey HS & Ashton-on-Mersey), Dominic Barrow (Yorkshire, Bradfield GS & Doncaster), Tom Burtonwood (Lancashire, Baines HS & Fylde), Danny Casson (Yorkshire, South Hunsley HS & Hull Ionians), Ollie Chambers (Cheshire, Manchester GS & Manchester), Tom Coates (Yorkshire, Wales HS & Rotherham Titans), Chris Downham (Cumbria, Queen Katherine School, Kendal & Kendal), George Drury (Cheshire, King's Macclesfield & Macclesfield), Arnie Ellison (Yorkshire & Bradford GS), Ryan Fish (Lancashire, Ripley St Thomas HS & Vale of Lune), Henry Forbes (Yorkshire, Ampleforth College & Hull Ionians), Ed Hainsworth (Yorkshire & Bradford GS), Jack Harrison (Cumbria, Sedbergh School & Wilmslow), Will Heylings (Yorkshire, Hymer's College & Hull Ionians), Mark Jennings (Cheshire, Lymm HS & Cheshire), Sam Kerry (Yorkshire, Ridgewood School & Wheatley Hills), Tom Kill (Durham, Durham School & Billingham), Peter Lucock (Yorkshire, Allerton Grange & Moortown), Ben Perkins (Lancashire, Arnold School & Fylde), Angus Robertson (Durham, Barnard Castle & Darlington), Joe Robinson (Cumbria, Kirkbie Kendal & Kendal), Jay Rudland-Thomas (Lancashire, Lancaster RGS & Vale of Lune), Josh Thundercliffe (Yorkshire, Filey School & Hull Ionians).

Nathan Morris (Cumbria, Sedbergh School & Carlisle) and Chris Gemmell (Yorkshire & Giggleswick School), who were unavailable for the trial through injury, will continue to be monitored by the England management.

The North's management team for 2008/09 is Richard Wareham and Bill Laidlaw, who respectively cover the forwards and backs, Director of Coaching, Stuart Hardy, and Chairman of Selectors, John Whelan. One notable absentee this season will be Team Manager for the last five seasons, Steve Reynolds, who is taking up a teaching and coaching role in Swaziland.

The North's Under 18 selectors have named a squad of 26 for their Divisional Festival at Broadstreet from January 2/4 after a hectic development weekend at West Park Leeds.

Their line-up will be chosen from: Simon McIntyre (St. Bedes College\Broughton Park\Lancashire), Harry Hannan (Woodhouse Grove\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Rory Duff (Yarm School\Middlesbrough\Yorkshire), Daniel Hall (Hutton GS\Sale Sharks\Lancashire), Richard Rhodes (Prince Henry's GS\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Harrison Collins (Stonyhurst College \Lancashire), Chris Walker (Prince Henry's GS\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Carl Kirwan (Macmillan Academy\Middlesbrough\Durham), Andrew Davies (Lymm HS\Sale Sharks\Cheshire), Daniel Bibby (Kirkham GS\Aspull\Lancashire), Peter Homan (Macmillan Academy\Middlesbrough\Durham), Will Addison (QEGS Penrith\Penrith\Cumbria), George Elliott (Giggleswick School\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), James Twomey (Birkdale HS\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Tom Brady (Myerscough College\Sale Sharks\Lancashire), Ben Sowrey (Prince Henry's GS\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), David Simmons (Prince Henry's GS\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Matthew Shields (Sedbergh School\Carlisle\Cumbria), Thomas Hicks(Sedbergh School\Newcastle Falcons\Cumbria), Ben Morris (QEGS Wakefield\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Oliver Shaw (Bradford GS\Leeds Carnegie\Yorkshire), Christian Georgiou (Crossley Heath HS\Old Brodleians\Yorkshire), Andrew Hall (Newcastle RGS\Northumberland), Sam Stuart (Sedbergh School\Harlequins\Yorkshire), Jordan Kennedy (Wilmslow HS\Sale Sharks\Cheshire), Oliver Stedman (King's School, Tynemouth\Leeds Carnegie\Northumberland).

Sponsors an introduction to russian watches. . localization services
join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching