Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > North U16 head for Macclesfield
Your News North U16 head for Macclesfield

The England RU Under 16 selection process moves to another phase this coming weekend when the final North trial is held at King's School, Macclesfield on Saturday (December 13,12.30pm).

The development squad that trained at Mount St Mary's College, Sheffield last weekend has been cut to 40 players for the next stage, which will determine who represents the North in the regional trials at Broad Street, Coventry from January 9/11.

A clear reminder that the players are moving towards the sharp end of the selection process was offered at Mount St Mary's by the presence of England 18 Group coach, John Fletcher, who attended the weekend to meet and gain an early impression of some of the players that he could be working with in a couple of year's time.

One player who will not regard the venue with much affection is Cumbria captain Nathan Morris. He was ruled out after a dislocation early in the proceeding, necessitating a trip to Chesterfield Hospital which came exactly a year to the day after a clash of heads prevented his progression last season. After just an hour of training on the first day, the highly-rated prop is aiming to return to action in six weeks.

The teams for the final trial will be selected from the following: Dominic Barrow (Yorkshire, Bradfield GS & Doncaster), Will Bordill (Cheshire, Sandbach & Sandbach), Tom Burtonwood (Lancashire, Baines HS & Fylde), Ben Carven (Northumberland, King Edward VI, Morpeth & Alnwick), Danny Casson (Yorkshire, South Hunsley HS & Hull Ionians), Ollie Chambers (Cheshire, Manchester GS & Manchester), Conor Clancy (Lancashire, Stonyhurst College & London Irish Amateurs), Tom Coates (Yorkshire, Wales HS & Rotherham Titans), Chris Downham (Cumbria, Queen Katherine School & Kendal), George Drury (Cheshire, King's Macclesfield & Macclesfield), Arnie Ellison (Yorkshire & Bradford GS), Ryan Fish (Lancashire, Ripley St Thomas HS & Vale of Lune), Henry Forbes (Yorkshire, Ampleforth College & Hull Ionians), Hugo Govett (Yorkshire, Leeds GS & Otley), Ed Hainsworth (Yorkshire & Bradford GS), Jack Harrison (Cumbria, Sedbergh School & Wilmslow), Will Heylings (Yorkshire, Hymer's College & Hull Ionians), Mark Jennings (Cheshire, Lymm HS & Cheshire), Sam Kerry (Yorkshire, Ridgewood & Wheatley Hills), Tom Kill (Durham, Durham School & Billingham), Peter Lucock (Yorkshire, Allerton Grange & Moortown), Ben Perkins (Lancashire, Arnold School & Fylde), Jamie Reed (Yorkshire & Ampleforth College), Angus Robertson (Durham, Barnard Castle & Darlington), Joe Robinson (Cumbria, Kirkbie Kendal & Kendal), Oliver Rosillo (Yorkshire, Harrogate GS & Harrogate), Jay Rudland-Thomas (Lancashire, Lancaster RGS & Vale of Lune), Max Smith (Cumbria, Sedbergh School & Wilmslow), Josh Thundercliffe (Yorkshire, Filey School & Hull Ionians), James Tyson (Yorkshire & Pocklington).

Replacements: Tom Ailes (Cheshire, Ashton-on-Mersey HS & Ashton-on-Mersey), Tristan Burd (Cumbria, Queen Elizabeth's Kirkby Lonsdale & Kirkby Lonsdale), Chris Campbell (Northumberland, Gosforth HS & Gosforth), Oliver Farley (Lancashire, Lowton HS & Preston Grasshoppers), Alex Garbraith (Northumberland, St Thomas More & Percy Park), Simon Hammersley (Yorkshire, Hymers College & Hull Ionians), Sam Higgins (Lancashire, Bolton School & Eccles), George McGuigan (Durham, Richmond & Darlington), Jack Scott-Paul (Yorkshire, Bedale HS & Otley), Matthew Williams (Northumberland, Queen Elizabeth's HS, Hexham & Tynedale).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching