Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Statement on the Principality Premiership
Your News Statement on the Principality Premiership

The WRU Board has approved further changes to the Principality

Premiership from season 2016/17 following consideration of a

Competitions Pathway Working Group report.

Further to the proposed increase from 12 teams to 16 the WRU Board

has now also approved a mid-season split of the division with the

top eight teams playing against each other in the second half of

each season and the bottom eight teams similarly grouped.

The eight/eight split will be determined on league positions based

on results from the fixtures already played in the first half of

the season.

All the clubs in the expanded division will be subject to the same

on and off-field support provided by the Welsh Rugby Union.

As previously agreed and announced the Premiership will be

ring-fenced until the end of season 2018/19.

The Board of the WRU has also agreed to a full review of the

structure and finances over the first three seasons of the enlarged


This review will aim to ensure the Division provides appropriate

development opportunities to players and coaches within the WRU’s

agreed rugby pathway structure.

These latest changes are in line with the WRU Board’s pledge to

continue their consideration of the Competitions Pathway Working

Group recommendations.

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching