Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > North RU U16 hopefuls move on
Your News North RU U16 hopefuls move on

Northern hopefuls were robbed of their chance to make a final impact when the Under 16 RU County games at Barnard Castle School had to be cancelled because of frost last weekend, but the 15-strong team of selectors can be confident that they had ample data to help them choose the squad that will assemble at Mount St Mary's School, Worksop this weekend (December 5/7) for the next stage of the England trial process.

Every unit of play had been seen in match action and some selectors had also visited various key school and club fixtures. Based on the grades applied to the players by their own County coaches, the assessments gathered by the North selectors and, after recommendations from Newcastle Falcons, Leeds Carnegie and Sale Sharks, plus verbal representations from each county's lead coach, it was agreed to extend the numbers at Mount St Mary's by a dozen.

>From Mount St Mary's, about 38 or 40 players will be taken to the Final Trial at the Kings School, Macclesfield the following Saturday (December 13th), at which point the England 16 Group selectors choose the North squad for the England selection festival on January 9 at Broadstreet RUFC.

The North squad for Mount St Mary's is: Tom Ailes (Cheshire), Matthew Atkinson (Northumberland), Dominic Barrow (Yorkshire), Will Bordill (Cheshire), Tristan Burd (Cumbria), Tom Burtonwood (Lancashire), Chris Campbell (Northumberland), Ben Carven (Northumberland), Ollie Chambers (Cheshire), Conor Clancy (Lancashire), Cameron Clunies-Ross (Northumberland), Tom Coates (Yorkshire), Struan Connor (Yorkshire), Richard Cotterill (Cheshire), Ralph Dowds (Lancashire), Chris Downham (Cumbria), George Drury (Cheshire), Arnie Ellison (Yorkshire), Tahir El-Mahdi (Lancashire), Oliver Farley (Lancashire), Ryan Fish (Lancashire), Henry Forbes (Yorkshire), Alex Garbraith (Northumberland), Chris Gemmell (Yorkshire), Hugo Govett (Yorkshire), Robbie Griffin (Northumberland), Ed Hainswoth (Yorkshire), Lewis Hall (Durham), Simon Hammersley (Yorkshire), Jack Harrison (Cumbria), Will Heylings (Yorkshire), Sam Higgins (Lancashire), Sam Kerry (Yorkshire), Tom Kill (Durham), Daniel Lowther (Cumbria), Peter Lucock (Yorkshire), George McGuigan (Durham), Matthew Minett (Cumbria), Nathan Morris (Cumbria), Joe Northwood (Northumberland), Oliver Parkinson (Cheshire), Ben Perkins (Lancashire), Jamie Reed (Yorkshire), Angus Robertson (Durham), Joe Robinson (Cumbria), Oliver Rosillo (Yorkshire), Jay Rossi (Cumbria), Jay Rudland-Thomas (Lancashire), Jack Scott-Paul (Yorkshire), Max Smith (Cumbria), Josh Thundercliffe (Yorkshire), Seb Tullie (Yorkshire), James Tyson (Yorkshire), David Watchorn (Northumberland), Matthew Williams (Northumberland), Fraser Wilson (Durham), Daniel Worthington (Lancashire).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching