Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > England U16 squads named
Your News England U16 squads named

MATT Gallagher, the son of former New Zealand international John, has been included in the England Under 16s squad for their forthcoming international against Italy Under 17s at Lichfield on April 1 and Wales Under 16s at Oxford University on April 6.

Gallagher plays at full-back, as did his father in the 1987 Rugby World Cup final, is a pupil at Colfes School where his father taught until recently.

Gallagher was among 72 players involved in a training camp at Hartpury College in Gloucestershire recently after which the England selectors named three squads. England South and England North will compete in the annual Wellington International Festival in Berkshire from March 30 to April 5.

England Under 16s will have a training weekend at St Edwards School in Oxford from March 9 to 10 where they will play Northampton Under 17s on the final day at 11am.

England South and England North will train at Cokethorpe School in Oxfordshire from from March 9 to 10 where England South will play Leicester Under 17s and England South will play Wasps Under 17s. Both matches will be played on March 10 with 11am kick-offs.

At the Wellington Festival England South will play France Under 16 A on March 31 (2.30pm), Scotland Under 16s on April 3 (2.30pm) and USA Under 17s on April 5 (1.30pm).

England North will play France Under 16s B on March 31 (12.15pm), Netherlands Under 17s on April 2 (11am) and Belgium Under 17s on April 5 (11am).

The England South squad includes Cheshires Christian Taylor who is part of a hooking dynasty as his grandfather played in that position for Cheshire and his father, Ian, for Orrell. Taylors cousin Tommy Taylor is an England Counties XV hooker who now plays for Sale Sharks in the Aviva Premiership.

England Under 16

Backs: Matt Gallagher (Colfes School, Old Colfeians RFC and Kent), Dominic Morris (New Hall School and Essex), Nick Harris (Sherborne School and Dorset & Wilts), Jack Maunders (Blundells School and Devon), Owain James (Harrow School and Middlesex), Paddy McDuell (Bedford School, Bedford Junior Blues and East Midlands), Rotimi Segun (Northampton School for Boys, Old Northamptonians RFC and East Midlands), Sam Allen (Crossley Heath) School and Yorkshire), Favour Maduka (Stonyhurst College and Lancashire), Alex Mitchell (Lymm HS, Lymm RFC and Cheshire)

Forwards: Joe Mullis (Chosen Hill School, Chosen Hill RFC and Gloucestershire), Harry Wilson (Kingshill School, Cirencester RFC and Gloucestershire), Jack Stanley (Helston College, Penzance RFC and Cornwall), Mofe Wilkey (Trinity School and Surrey), Billy Walker (Great Baddow HS, Chelmsford RFC and Essex), Alex Munday (Berkhamsted School, Harpenden RFC and Hertfordshire), Freddie Davison (Bedford School, Bedford Junior Blues and East Midlands), Henry Peck (Vandyke School, Leighton Buzzard RFC and East Midlands), Garth Spencer (Biddenham Upper School, Bedford Junior Blues and East Midlands), Callum Chick (Ponteland HS, Ponteland HS and Northumberland), James Gilboy (Stockport GS, Manchester RFC and Cheshire), Victor Keunen (Stonyhurst College, Harlequins and Lancashire),

England South

Backs: Kieran Kelly (Prior Park College, Cirencester RFC and Dorset & Wilts), Henry Crane (Sherborne School and Dorset & Wilts), Sam Rees (QEH Bristol, Winscombe RFC and Somerset), Jack Zilch (Tiverton School, Chippenham RFC and Dorset & Wilts), Owen Waters (Kingswood School, Chippenham RFC and Dorset & Wilts), George Worth (Wymondham College and Eastern Counties), Conor Dolan (St Benedicts Ealing, Richmond RFC and Middlesex), Harry Bassett (Warwick School and Warwickshire), George Furbank (Kimbolton School, Huntingdon RFC and East Midlands), Paolo Odogwu (KES Birmingham, Walsall RFC and Staffordshire), Will Sutton (Caistor GS, Lincoln RFC and NLD)

Forwards: Josh Caulfield (Priory School, Hornets RFC and Bristol), Morgan Bottrill (Tewkesbury School, Coney Hill RFC and Gloucs), John Whittaker (Sandbach School, Sandbach RFC and Cheshire), Christian Taylor (Tytherington HS, Macclesfield RFC and Cheshire), Archie White (Glyn School and Surrey), William Evans (Wymondham College, Wymondham RFC and Eastern Counties), Alex Everett (Judd School, Sevenoaks RFC and Kent), Will Allman (Trent College, Melbourne RFC and Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire), Jake Byrne (Trinity School and Warwickshire), John Hawkins (Manshead School, Dunstablians and East Midlands), James Pollard (Bedford Modern School, Bedford Junior Blues and East Midlands), Charley Robinson (South Bromsgrove HS, Newport RFC and North Midlands), Alex Moon (Sedbergh School and Cumbria), James Orritt (Dame Allans School, Blaydon RFC and Northumberland).

England North

Backs: Joe Lewis (Wellington School, Wellington RFC and Somerset), Clayton Dee (Churchdown School, Coney Hill RFC and Gloucs), Darren Atkins (Millfield School, Winscombe RFC and Somerset), Loewy Simmons (St Richards Catholic College, Hove RFC and Sussex), Connor Adams (Burton Borough School, Newport RFC and North Midlands), Daniel Bhatti (Bedford Modern School, Bedford Junior Blues and East Midlands), Mark Dixon (Lymm HS, Lymm RFC and Cheshire), Tom Gorman (Leeds GS, West Park Leeds RFC and Yorkshire), James McDaniel (Ripon GS, Ripon RFC and Yorkshire), Thomas Somers (Easingwold School, York RFC and Yorkshire).

Forwards: Sam Boyland (Colstons Collegiate, Clifton RFC and Bristol), Joe Moore (Pates GS, Cheltenham RFC and Gloucestershire), Max Chandler (Shiplake College, Effingham & Leatherhead RFC and Oxon), Jack Strong (Stowe School and Buckinghamshire), Michael Walton (St. John's School, Durham City RFC and Durham), Matthew Postlethwaite (Ilkley Grammar School, Ilkley RFC and Yorkshire), Aubrey Grimes (Litcham HS, Norwich RFC and Eastern Counties), Charlie Stonehill (Thornden School, Thornden RFC and Hampshire), Tim Cardall (Prince William School, Oundle RFC and East Midlands), Stone Priestley-Nagle (Worksop College, Paviors RFC and NLD), Jack Beckwith (Barnard Castle School and Durham), Charlie Capps (Queen Ethelburga's College,Ripon RFC and Yorkshire), Tyler Jerrum (Wyedean School, Drybrook RFC and Gloucestershire)

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching