Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > England Women top seeds for RWC Sevens
Your News England Women top seeds for RWC Sevens

England’s victory in round two of the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series in Houston, Texas last weekend has secured their position as number-one seeds for the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013, which takes place from 28-30 June in the iconic Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

England ran out 29-12 winners in the final after an excellent weekend where they had to beat the champions from Dubai, New Zealand, twice on the way to lifting the title. This victory puts England top of the seedings, with seedings based on the combined results from the 2011/12 Challenge Cup series and 2012/13 World Series. England will be joined in the first band by RWC Sevens 2009 winners Australia, Canada and USA.

Band Two will be populated by New Zealand, South Africa, Spain and Russia while the third tier will include Netherlands, China, France and Japan.

The RWC Sevens 2013 Pool Allocation Draw takes place in Moscow on 28 February.

England’s powerhouse Heather Fisher, who was named player of the tournament in Houston, said England are delighted with their recent victory but RWC Sevens is going to be an immensely competitive tournament.

“Women’s Rugby Sevens is really competitive these days and I think that bodes well for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in June,” said Fisher, who also played in the 2009 RWC Sevens, where England lifted the Plate. “The final in Houston could have involved any one of the top eight sides because there was very little between everyone. This is a fantastic result for us and a platform for us to build on for the next few months heading into the World Cup.”

Women's RWC Sevens rankings' after Sevens World Series RND 2

England 48

Australia 46

Canada 36

USA 36


New Zealand 34

South Africa 30

Spain 28

Russia 28


Netherlands 26

China 10

France 6

Japan 5


Tunisia 0

Ireland 0

Fiji 0

S America qualifier 0

The four bands of four for the women are as follows:

Band 1: Australia, England, Canada, USA

Band 2: New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, Russia

Band 3: Netherlands, China, France, Japan

Band 4: Tunisia, Ireland, Fiji, (S American Qualifier).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching