Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > North senior women ring the changes
Your News North senior women ring the changes

THE North Senior Women’s RU team ring the changes for their Divisional game against London & South East at Sheffield RFC on Sunday (2pm)after opening their programme with a 24-14 win over the Midlands.

The North had nine newcomers in their squad at Darlington and now give another batch of players a chance to put down a marker. Claire Shutler, Corinne Allmark, Fran Walker and Heike Niemand are all in the starting line-up on Sunday, while Ellie Prescott, Laura Riches and Lindsey Kitching come onto the replacements bench for this game.

Once again, the strength of the Waterloo club is reflected in their contribution to the squad, with 10 of their players involved.

London & South East beat the South West 17-5 in their opening game and are regarded as the most powerful of the divisional teams, so there is a real opportunity for the Northern girls to make a real impact on Sunday.

The North squad will be without two players - Abbie Scott and Siam McGuinness - who will be playing for the England U20s against France,” said North Talent Development Officer Rob Thomson. “It will be the toughest game for the North squad with London, unbeaten last season, having a lot more experience.

“The coaches will be hoping to build on the solid foundation from the first game, especially the second-half performance. The key will be up front where if the North can get some good ball from the forwards they have attacking threats all along the back line.”

The RFUW Divisional Programme forms an integral part of the RFUW Player Pathway, which can see players go from playing club rugby to representing their county. Current England stars who have qualified through this pathway include most recently Emily Braund, who got her first cap for England recently in the RBS 6 Nations against Scotland.

Players selected for the Divisional Programme have been selected by their Constituency Body and if they are successful could go on to England trials, or qualify for the Under 18s and Under 15s RFUW National Talent Development Groups, which looks to develop the future talent of England Women’s rugby.

North Senior Women’s XV: Danielle Wiseman (Waterloo); Fran Walker (Waterloo), Heike Niemand (University of Leeds / Leodiensians), Vicki Pinks (Leeds Met University), Julie Hope (Carlisle); Suzanne Todd (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Claire Shutler (Manchester University); Sarah Batley (Leeds Met University), Rachael Thomas (Waterloo), Charlotte Evans (Sheffield), Kelly Bevan (Leodiensians), Lucy Brook (Waterloo), Jenny Evans (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Corinne Allmark (Waterloo), Jo Brown (Glossop).

Replacements: Ellie Prescott (Waterloo), Emma Hutchinson (Waterloo), Lindsey Kitching (Waterloo), Ale Lewis (Waterloo), Meadhbh Westwood (Waterloo), Laura Riches (Tyldesley), Victoria Britland (Northumbria University).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching