Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Converted Yeo try helps Cumbria to win
Your News Converted Yeo try helps Cumbria to win

Cornwall wound up their National U20 Championship South West B Group campaign with a hard-fought 24-23 win over fierce rivals Devon U20 at Hayle RFC last Sunday (Mar. 4).

Centre Liam Yeo’s late try, converted by fly half Kyle Moyle, made the difference in a rugged contest that, in the end, had no bearing on the Group title as Gloucestershire U20 defeated Somerset at Lydney, 38-20, to top the group unbeaten.

“The boys really rose to it and if we keep performing like that we’ll have a good side next season as half of the boys will be back,” summed up Cornwall coach Tom Rawlings afterwards. “It also shows the level of players coming through the county and that Cornwall rugby has a bright future.”

Cornwall opted to play with the fierce wind that was blowing down the pitch in the first-half but were in for an early setback when Devon left-wing Josh Smith intercepted a pass in the Cornish midfield and sprinted over from well inside his own half after just five minutes.

A missed penalty added to Cornwall woes shortly after but, with their pack under pressure in the tight and up against the wind, the visitors finally conceded a try when scrum half Ollie Mulberry’s clearance, from inside his own 22, was charged down by Neil Broadbank.

The flanker, in full flight, chased after the ball as it careered back over the Devon line and jubilantly dived on it for the five points.

Fly half Kyle Moyle didn’t miss the conversion but he did miss one, minutes later, after Cornwall had immediately swept back into the visitors 22 and some well-worked ball sent left wing Aaron Struminski powering over for a 12-5 lead.

Devon, however, rallied quickly and hit back from a concentrated handling movement rounded off by No.8 Kade Dillon smashing over only for the home side to immediately reply when full back Dean Bonds set up Struminski for his second and to put Cornwall 17-10 in front at the break.

With the news that Somerset were 13-3 ahead of Gloucestershire turning into the second half there was all to play for, for both sides, in the second half and, with the wind now behind them, Devon began to exert some meaningful pressure.

A neatly struck Rob Avery-Wright drop-goal cut the deficit and with Cornwall’s replacement prop Ryan Pill yellow carded almost as soon as he came on at a scrum Devon seemed to have the upper hand.

Avery-Wright kicked the resultant penalty to get his side within a point, 17-16, but resilient Cornwall maintained their slender lead until back to full strength.

And, after some intense pressure on the visitors line, it was the home team who stretched further ahead when, having snaffled Devon ball, centre Liam Yeo fought his way over and Moyle converted with two minutes remaining.

One last big effort saw Devon replacement Nigel Law grab the visitors final try with Avery-Wright’s conversion ending the match.

Cornwall U20: Dean Bonds (Redruth); Tom Notman (Redruth), Liam Yeo (Launceston), Sam Chapman (Launceston), Aaron Struminski (Launceston); Kyle Moyle (Launceston), Luke Ashbridge (Bath Uni.); Malcolm Hearn (Penryn – c), Ted Alsop (Truro College), Mike Roach (Launceston); Brogan O’Keefe (Truro), Duncan Hayles (Launceston); Jordan Rose (Penryn), Neil Broadbank (Truro College), Anthony Dickenson (Truro College); Reps - Ryan Brown (St Austell), Ryan Pill (Launceston), Joab Murphy (Truro College), Jordan Duke (Launceston), James Martin (Penryn), Alex Welland (St Austell), Jack Kessell (Redruth).

Devon U-20: Oli Massey-Birch (UWIC); Matt Dayment (Newton Abbot), Dan Luffman (Tavistock), Kevin Dennis (Okehampton), Josh Smith (Newton Abbot); Rob Avery-Wright (Newton Abbot), Ollie Mulberry (UWIC); George Snell (Bideford), Sam Bennett (Devonport Services), Ben Higgins (Exmouth); Rupert Edwards (Plymouth University), Tom Whitford (Torquay Athletic); Stuart Persey (Cullompton), Chris Farrell (Newton Abbot), Kade Dillon (Plymouth University); Dan Lee (Barnstaple). Reps: Matt Dowrick (Newton Abbot), Guiseppe Varano (Bicton College), Tom Burt (Devonport Services), Nigel Berry (Exmouth).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching