Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Roses rivals to launch new campaign
Your News Roses rivals to launch new campaign

ROSES rugby rivals Yorkshire and Lancashire launch their bid for honours in the National Under 20 RU Championships on Sunday when they each take on one of the teams beaten in the first round of matches.

The White Rose side get underway with a game against Durham at Ilkley and despite two warm-up game being cancelled due to the adverse weather, with seven players from last season’s squad that reached the semi-finals, they will go into the game in confident mood.

Durham’s opening game against North East neighbours Northumberland ended in 62-5 defeat, so the visitors need a sharp improvement if they are to upset the form-book.

Lancashire open with a home game against Cumbria at Liverpool St Helens and news from the camp suggests that Head Coach Paul Arnold and his Assistants Scott Barrow and Paul Bailey have another strong contingent to choose from.

Around 50 players were put forward and took part in training sessions and a couple of trial matches. Over a third of the squad will be still eligible for selection next year which bodes well for the future.

Cumbria went down 32-14 at home to Cheshire in their opening encounter, so like Durham, they will be looking to raise their game at Moss Lane.

Gloucestershire, who put Yorkshire out of the competition at the Semi-final stage at Halifax last season, are defending the title they won by beating Hertfordshire at Twickenham.

Yorkshire U20s (v Durham at Ilkley RFC, 2.15): Jack Moon (Morley); Will Heylings (Harrogate), Joe Martin (Hull), Ned Brown (Leeds Un), Matt Lovett (Leeds Un); Greg Lound (Hull), Isaac Green (Hull Ionians); George Burkinshaw (Otley), Sam Kerry(Wheatley Hills)/James Brown (Bradford & Bingley), Adam Tamanis (Doncaster Phoenix), Adam Malthouse (Yarnbury), Piers Phillips (Darlington Mowden Park), Henry Forbes (Unattached), Tom Moody (Beverley), Ben Morris (Blaydon) capt

Replacements: Ben Johnson (Beverley), James Munro (Leeds Un), Jak Gaff (Leeds Un), Piers Goodwill (Unattached), James Brown/Sam Kerry, Tom Francis (Malton & Norton), Mike Bradshaw (Beverley)

Lancashire (v Cumbria at Liverpool St Helens): Scott Redfearn (Stockport); Tom Halsall (Fylde), Charles Hough (Morley), Tom Bedlow (Rossendale), Ben Rath (Fylde); Louis Singleton (UWIC), Callum McShane (Fylde); Max Ashcroft (Bath Un), Josh Woods (Sedgley Park), James Keegan (Sefton), Rob Taylor (Fylde), Austin Halewood (Loughborough Un), John Wells (Preston Grasshopers), Alastair Murray (Preston Grasshoppers), Ben Vernon (Tarleton).

Replacements: Chris Tribley (Preston Grasshoppers), Jordan Lord (Rossendale), Tom McGuinness (Fylde), James Laycock (Liverpool St Helens), Tom Webb (Fylde), Mike Simmons (Sedgley Park), Will Sharratt (Rossendale).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching