Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Roses U20 decider to be played at Hull
Your News Roses U20 decider to be played at Hull

BOTH Yorkshire and Lancashire have important changes ahead of their National Under 20s Championship showdown at Hull RFC on Sunday (March 20, 2.15pm) in the game which will decide which team wins the Northern group of the competition and goes through to the Semi-finals.

Defending champions Yorkshire welcome back their captain and No 8 Ben Morris, while in another forward change, Josh Bayford comes in for the injured Steve Quigley at prop.

Lancashire switch Alex Zavallis-Roebuck from centre to fly-half, with Sam Russell taking his place in the three-quarter line, while James Smith gets the scrum-half berth to form a new half-back partnership.

Josh Beaumont comes into the side at lock to partner John Wells, while in a back-row switch, Harrison Collins teams up with Gareth Harris and Cameron Thompson.

The form-book suggests that Yorkshire go into the game as favourites on the strength of the comparative performances of the two sides so far in the competition, but the White Rose men are wary of the favourites tag.

However, their four victories have all been reasonably straightforward, yielding 189 points and a concession of a paltry 18.

Lancashire, in contrast, have been the first to admit that their wins over Cheshire and Cumbria have hardly been convincing and even though they also have an unbeaten sheet, they know that they will need to raise their game to claim the spoils.

But Roses matches tend to bring out the best in teams and it will be a surprise if this contest does not fulfil those expectations.

Elsewhere in the championship on Sunday, the North East derby between Northumberland and Durham will be staged at Morpeth, while Cheshire and Cumbria will meet at New Brighton.

Cheshire round off the Championship with what should be a entertaining game after both sides provided a stern test for their Red Rose neighbours. Sundays game is a chance to keep the ball rolling and with Cheshire keeping 10/12 players for next years championship, they will want to finish on a high note.

Lancashire Under 20s: Sean Taylor (Preston Grasshoppers); Tom Banks (Westoe), Sam Russell (Fylde), Kelham O'Hanlon (Fylde), Jamie Harrison (Broughton Park); Alex Zavallis-Roebuck (Preston Grasshoppers), James Smith (Preston Grasshoppers); Stuart Hesketh (Vale of Lune), Scott Briggs (Preston Grasshoppers), Tom McGuinness (Fylde), Josh Beaumont (Fylde), John Wells (Fylde), Gareth Harris (Sedgley Park), Harrison Collins (Fylde), Cameron Thompson (Fylde).

Replacements: Josh Woods (Kirkham Grammar School), Max Ashcroft (Bath University), Michael Garrity (Liverpool St Helens), Alisdair Sutherland (Fylde), Callum McShane (Fylde), Ollie Carter (Vale of Lune), Adam Birchall (Sedgley Park).

Yorkshire U20s (v Lancashire U20s at Hull, 2.15 pm): Thomas Hodson (Sandal); Rob Almond (Harrogate), James Holland (Bradford & Bingley), Peter Homan (Middlesbrough), William Robinson (Hull); Greg Lound (Hull), Mark Gemmell (Leeds Met University); William Dutton (York), Tom Moody (Morley), Josh Bayford (Durham Un/Sandal), Stuart Cross (Manchester University), Sam Brady (Pontefract), Carl Kirwan (Middlesbrough), Ben Dorrington (Hull), Ben Morris (Westoe) capt

Replacements: Jack Moon (Old Brodleians), Sam Watkinson (Durham Un/Ripon), Stuart Costello (Morley), Ben Sowery (Wharfedale), Adam Malthouse (Yarnbury), Mike Bradshaw (Driffield), Tom Bagnall (Hull).

Cheshire Uner 20s (v Cumbria at New Brighton): Eddie Stobart (Sedgley Park); Andrew Rowley (Lymm), Elliott Brierley (Macclesfield) capt, Phil Brocken (St Anselms), Giles Dugdale (Sale FC); Owen Thomas (Caldy), Rory Bell (Stockport); Joe Cardus (New Brighton), Olly Longmore (Wilmslow), Lewis Mckay (Wilmslow), Pete Doolan (Caldy), Jack Ashcroft (Birkenhead Park), Jamie Redmond (Burnage), Luke Brown (Sale FC), Sam Mullarky (Morley).

Replacements: from - Tom Hall (Wilmslow), Adam Neal (Birkenhead Park),Matt Lister (Liverpool Uni), Joe Murray (Wirral), Daniel Rich (Birkenhead Park), Mike Kaciubskyj (Stockport), Gav Vaughan (Northwich), Joel Barber (Northwich), Harry Broadbent (Wirral), Harrison Lewis (Wilmslow), Neal Dawson (Caldy).

National Under 20 Championship North: January 23 (all kick-offs 2.15); Lancashire 20 Cheshire 15, Durham 0 Yorkshire 72, Northumberland 35 Cumbria 20. February 6; Lancashire 24 Northumberland 3 (at Sedgley Park), Yorkshire 18 Cheshire 0 (at Halifax), Cumbria 58 Durham 0 (at Carlisle). February 20; Lancashire 25 Cumbria 20 (at Vale of Lune), Northumberland 5 Yorkshire 56 (at Ashington), Durham 3 Cheshire 87 (at West Hartlepool). March 6; Durham 14 Lancashire 64 (at Billingham), Cumbria 13 Yorkshire 43 (at Ambleside), Cheshire 39 Northumberland 20 (at Crewe & Nantwich). March 20; Yorkshire v Lancashire (at Hull), Northumberland v Durham (at Morpeth), Cheshire v Cumbria (at New Brighton).

April 16: Semi-finals. May 14: Final at Twickenham

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching